Introduction to The Five Elements (Wu Xing)

The Five Elements is a cosmological arrangement, and diagnostic tool found in Daoism and Chinese medicine. The name Wu Xing might be better described as the "Five Phases" or "Five Interactions". The Wu Xing is mutually mediating, change in one initiates change throughout the system. The Five Elements are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. Through the Five Elements, the primordial interaction of Yin and Yang, the Supreme Ultimate, is obscured and given variety. Two cycles of interaction occur, the generating cycle (sheng), and the controlling cycle (ke), the generating cycle is Wood being burned into Fire, Fire returning to Earth, Earth harvesting Metal, and Metal enriching Water. The controlling cycle is Wood grasping Earth, Metal cutting Wood, Fire melting Metal, Water dowsing Fire, and Earth restricting Water. Earth is a balance of Yin and Yang, it is the central pivot between all the elements. Fire is utmost Yang, Water is utmost Yin, Wood is Yang rising from Yin, and Metal is Yin concealing Yang. Yin is likened to the physical and the earthly, Yang is likened to the spiritual and the heavenly. While the physical appears to be solid, it is actually the soft and impermanent, while the progression of Dao and the Way of Heaven is that which is hard and enduring, and that which is truly tangible.

Follow and subscribe to the blog for more on this topic to come, and view our videos.

The Five Elements Series on youtube.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What's new for Dao Holistic Wellness?

The COVID Pandemic of 2019-2020 has certainly changed the way businesses, people, nations, and the entire world operates. It is important to manage spiritual and emotional health in these times of wor

The Importance of Dreaming

The Importance of Dreaming Dreaming is one mysterious phenomenon that is extremely common. It is one of those areas like the deep ocean, or the surfaces of other planets, or deep space where there is